Team Of Lasu Academics Secures Book Donation From Indian Commission


A team of academics in the Faculty of Science, led by Prof. Kafilat Yusuf, on Thursday, presented a collection of 67 books covering various fields of study, donated by the Indian High Commission to the Lagos State University.

The academics, known as the Progressive Team, had, as part of their contributions to the development of the university, secured the donation of the book from the Indian Commission, and presented the same to the members of the university management at the Conference Room of the Vice Chancellor.

A member of the team, Dr. Olusola Sokerun, while speaking on behalf of the lecturers, averred that they are believers in the LASU project and are committed to leveraging their contacts to bring more goodwill to the institution.
He noted that the book donation was part of their contributions and would open more doors for the university in the future. He added that they would not relent in working for the development of LASU.

He, on behalf of the team, prayed for the continued development of the university.

The Vice-Chancellor, Prof. Ibiyemi Olatunji-Bello, mni, who was represented by the Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Administration, Prof. Adenike Boyo, while receiving the books, thanked the progressive team and the Indian Commission for the gesture. She expressed her hope that the relationship between the commission and the university would be taken to the next level with partnerships in various areas of interest in the nearest future.

The University Librarian, Dr. Emmanuel Layi Adebayo, in his brief comment, opined that Indian books are the best in several fields of study such as science and technology, and therefore, the books would be of great value to the university.

The Registrar, Mr. Emmanuel Fanu brought the presentation to an end with a vote of thanks.

Members of the progressive team, which facilitated the donation, include Professor (Mrs) Abosede Yussuf – Director CESSED and leader, Dr. Olusola Sokefun, Dr. Oluwaseun Babalola, and Dr. Teso Oluwa and Mr. Abiodun Adam.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here