NBL-Felix Ohiwerei Education Trust Fund Declare Open  2023 Maltina Teacher Of The Year Contest


The Nigeria Breweries-Felix Ohiwerei Education Trust Fund Thursday in Lagos announced the opening of entries for the 9th edition of the highly anticipated Maltina Teacher of the Year competition.

This nationwide search for the best secondary school teacher aims to recognize and reward exceptional educators who are shaping the future of our country.

Entries for the competition opened on Thursday, May 25, 2023, and will close on Friday, July 21, 2023.

To participate, eligible teachers can visit the dedicated website at www.maltinateacheroftheyear.com to complete the entry form online.

Alternatively, they can download the form, complete it, scan it, and email the completed form to maltinateacheroftheyear@heineken.com.

Addressing journalists at the flag-off ceremony, Mr. Uaboi Agbebaku, Company Secretary/Legal Director of Nigerian Breweries Plc, emphasized the fundamental role teachers play in shaping the lives of their students.

He stated that the competition aims to reward their efforts and inspire them to continue making a positive impact.

Agbebaku disclosed that AirPeace and Stanbic IBTC Bank are now on board as co-sponsors of the competition.

“As you may already know, this is the 9th edition of the Maltina Teacher of the Year Competition, but unlike the previous editions where the Nigeria Breweries-Felix Ohiwerei Education Trust Fund was the sole sponsor, we are delighted to announce that this year, we have commenced opening up potential partnerships with reputable and progressive companies who share in our vision and mission for the initiatives,” he said.

In her remarks, the Corporate Affairs Director, Nigerian Breweries Plc, Mrs. Sade Morgan, stated that all secondary teachers in both public and private schools are encouraged to participate in the 9th edition of the Maltina Teacher of the Year competition.

She highlighted the competition’s immense impact on teachers, as it has ignited a newfound passion and commitment to exceptional teaching among educators.

“There is no doubt that this competition has done a lot to lift the spirit of Nigerian teachers. In the last eight years, we have succeeded in providing a new narrative for the teaching profession in Nigeria.

“Our teachers are now proud to be associated with teaching, and we are encouraging the next generation of teachers to be passionate about the profession.”

Morgan who spoke on the prizes to be won, disclosed that the overall winner for the 2023 edition would receive a total cash prize of 6.5 million Naira, a trophy and a capacity development training opportunity.

She added that the winner’s school would receive either a computer laboratory or a block of classrooms.

“The first runner-up of the competition to receive a total sum of 1,500,000 Naira, a trophy, while the second runner-up receives a total of 1,250,000 Naira and a trophy.

“All state champions will be rewarded with recognition plaques and a cash prize of Five Hundred Thousand Naira each”, she added.

Since its inception, the Maltina Teacher of the Year initiative has produced six grand winners, Rose Nkemdilim Obi, Anambra (2015), Imoh Essien, Akwa Ibom (2016), Felix Ariguzo, Delta State (2017), Olasunkanmi Opeifa, FCT (2018), Ezem Collins (2019), Oluwabunmi Anani (2020) Abanika Taiye (221and Alaku Ayiwulu (2022).

In his goodwill message, the Head of Corporate Communications, Air Peace, Mr. Stanley Olisa, said the organisation is delighted to partner with Nigerian Breweries Plc on this laudable initiative to reward and celebrate teachers to achieve better impact in the classrooms.

He further pledged the commitment of Air Peace to continue to support the Maltina Teacher of the Year competition.

Also, the representative of Stanbic IBTC Bank, the Head, Consumer Sector/Client Coverage, Mrs. Nnenna Okoro commended Nigerian Breweries and the Felix Ohiwerei Foundation for remaining committed to the initiative, and this is one of the ways through which the bank continues to celebrate and promote the noble profession of teaching.

The Maltina Teacher of the Year competition was established in 2015 and funded through the Nigerian Breweries-Felix Ohiwerei Education Trust Fund, which was set up in 1994 to facilitate an active contribution to the development of the education sector in Nigeria in line with the United Nations Sustainable Development Goal, SDG No.4.

There were goodwill messages from representatives of the Federal and State Ministry of Education, the Nigerian Union of Teachers (NUT), the All Nigeria Confederation of Principals of Secondary Schools (ANCOPSS), and the Teachers Registration Council of Nigeria (TRCN).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here