Meet Nigeria’s Former Education Ministers


In Nigeria’s 63 years of nationhood, the country’s education sector has been administered at the federal level by 46 Ministers.

On Wednesday, August 3rd, 2023, President Bola Ahmed Tinubu-led Federal Government approved and announced the appointment of Prof. Tahir Mamman (SAN) as Nigeria’s new Minister of Education.

Mr. Mamman, the former Director-General of the Nigeria Law School from 2005 to 2013 takes over from Alhaji Adamu Adamu.

He becomes the 47th Minister of Education in Nigeria since 1958.

Also, Hon. Yusuf Tanko Sununu will take charge as the Minister of State for Education.

Below is a list of Professor Mamman’s predecessors in office.

Aja Nwachukwu (1958 to 1965)

Richard Akinjide (1965 to 1967)

Wenike Briggs (1967 to 1970)

A. Y. Eke (1970 to 1975)

Ahmadu Ali (1975 to 1978)

G. B. Leton (1978 to 1979)

Sylvester Ugoh (1979 to 1982)

Bala Usman (1979 to 1982)

Elizabeth Iyase (1979 to 1982)

I. C. Madubuike (1982 to 1983)

L. A. Bamigbaiye (1982 to 1983)

Sunday Afolabi (Sept to December 1983)

Alhaji Y. Abdullahi (1984 to 1985)

Alhaji Ibrahim (1985)

Jubril Aminu (1985 to 1989)

Babs Fafunwa (1990 to 1992)

Ben Nwabueze (Jan. 1993 to Aug. 1993)

A. I. Imogie (Jan. 1993 to Nov. 1993)

Alhaji Dongodaji (Jan 1993 to Jan 1994)

Iyorchia Ayu (Jan. 1994 to Feb. 1995)

Wada Nas (Jan 1995 to February 1995)

M. T. Liman (Feb. 1995 to Dec. 1997)

Iyabo Anisulowo (Feb.1997 to Dec 1997)

Dauda Birmah (Dec1997 to June 1998)

A. N. Achunine (Dec. 1997 to June 1998)

Olaiya Oni (August 1998 to May 1999)

Alhaji S. Saadu (Aug. 1998 to May 1999)

Tunde Adeniran (June 1999 to Jan 2001)

Lawam Batagarawa (June 1999 to 2001)

B. Borishade (Feb 2001to June 2003)

Bello Usman (Feb 2001 to June 2003)

F. N. C. Osuji (July 2003 to Feb 2005)

Hajia Bintu Musa (July 2003 to June 2005)

Chinwe Obaji (June 2005 to June 2006)

Halima Tayo Alao (June 2005 to 2006)

Grace Ogwuche (February 2006 to June 2006)

Oby Ezekwesili (June 2006 to April 2007)

Sayadi Abba Ruma (June 2006 to April 2007)

Adewunmi Abitoye (June 2006 to May 2007)

Igwe Aja Nwachukwu (June 2007 to December 2008)

Jerry Agada (June 2007 to December 2008)

Aishatu Jibril Dukku (June 2007 – 2010)
Sam Egwu (December 2008 to March 2010)

Ruqqayat Rufai (April 2010 – September 2013)

Ibrahim Shekarau (2014 – 2015)

Adamu Adamu (November 2015 –May 2023).

Mamman’s Responsibilities

As the Head of the Federal Ministry of Education, the Minister has enormous duties and responsibilities covering many establishments and parastatals under his watch.

His functions include:

Formulating a national policy on education.

Collecting and collating data for purposes of educational planning and financing.

Maintaining uniform standards of education throughout the country.

Controlling the quality of education in the country through the supervisory role of the Inspectorate Services Department within the Ministry.

Harmonizing educational policies and procedures of all the states of the federation through the instrumentality of the National Council on Education.

Effecting cooperation in educational matters on an international scale.

Developing curricula and syllabuses at the national level in conjunction with other bodies.

Parastatal include:

National Universities Commission (NUC), Abuja.

National Board for Arabic and Islamic Studies (NBAIS), Kaduna.

National Board for Technical Education (NBTE), Kaduna.

National Commission for Colleges of Education (NCCE), Abuja.

Universal Basic Education Commission (UBEC), Abuja.

National Commission for Nomadic Education (NCNE), Abuja.

National Commission for Adult Education Mass Literacy and Non-Formal Education (NMEC), Abuja.

Nigerian Educational Research and Development Council (NERDC), Sheda, FCT.

Joint Admissions and Matriculation Board (JAMB), Bwari, Abuja.

West African Examination Council (WAEC), Lagos.

National Examination Council (NECO), Minna, State.

National Business and Technical Examinations Board (NABTEB), Benin-city, Edo.

National Institute for Educational Planning & Administration (NIEPA), Ondo.

National Teachers Institute (NTI Archived 2022-05-26 at the Wayback Machine), Kaduna.

Nigerian Mathematical Centre (NMC), Sheda, FCT.

Nigerian French Language Village (NFV)Badagry, Lagos.

Nigerian Arabic Language Village (NALV) Ngala, Borno.

National Institute for Nigerian Languages (NINLAN) Aba, Abia.
Tertiary Education Trust Fund (TET FUND), Abuja.

National Library of Nigeria (NLN), Abuja.

Teachers’ Registration Council of Nigeria (TRCN), Abuja.

Computer Professionals Registration Council of Nigeria (CPN), Lagos.

Federal Scholarship Board, Abuja.
Librarians’ Registration Council of Nigeria (LRCN), Abuja.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here