LASU Shines, Clinches Three Laurels At 9th Nigerian Technology Awards


As the profile of the Lagos State University (LASU) continues to soar, the institution again, at the weekend, won laurels in recognition of its sound deployment of technology.

Recall that LASU was recently ranked as the 9th overall best University and Best State University in Nigeria.

At the 9th Nigerian Technology Awards held in Lagos, LASU emerged tops as it won awards for Excellence in Digital Transformation, Best Use of Technology (Students’ Records) and Best Use of Technology (E-learning) in the State University categories.

The awards, according to the organisers of the Nigeria Technology Awards, Beta Media, followed months of nomination and voting processes involving several institutions in the country.

At the ceremony which had the who is who in the Nigeria technology industry in attendance, the University was led by the Vice Chancellor, Prof. Ibiyemi Olatunji-Bello.

The VC, represented by the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic), Prof. Olufunsho Omobitan received the coveted awards.

LASU was the cynosure of all eyes as the institution received one award after the other, emerging as one of the most awarded organisations of all the organisations in attendance.

LASU’s recognition in the technology space lends credence to the strides the university has made in the last two years under the administration of Prof. Olatunji-Bello in the area of digitalisation of its processes and services.

Recall that earlier this week, the university introduced a mobile App called LASU Staff Corner to boost staff productivity, a development that was widely celebrated by stakeholders.

Also worthy of note is that the immediate past Executive Secretary of the National Universities Commission (NUC) named the university as a reference point for the use of Technology in Nigerian universities during the institution’s 26th Convocation, which was held in June 2023.

Prof. Omobitan was accompanied to receive the Award by Bursar, Mr. Said Babatunde Olayinka, who was represented by Deputy Bursar, Epe Campus, Mr. Jerry Jinadu; Deputy Registrar, VCO, Dr. Lateef Sekoni; Deputy Registrar and Special Assistant to the VC, Dr. Lateef Salami; Coordinator, CIPR, Mrs Oluwayemisi Thomas-Onashile and Media Assistant to the VC, Mr Oluwaseun Gbanja.

The Nigerian Technology Awards, which is in its 9th year, is an annual event organised to celebrate and reward Technology Entrepreneurs, Technology professionals, corporate organisations, innovators, academicians and policymakers in the technology space to promote excellent achievements in the Nigerian Technology Space.

Popular brands like DHL, Tecno, Nigerian Deposit Insurance Commission (NDIC), Federal Inland Revenue Service, iTel mobile, and Vatebra Limited, amongst others, were also awarded in various categories of awards bordering on technology.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here